Our Leadership

Leadership Team

Annette Miller

Chief Executive Officer

Annette has been working in the hospice industry since graduation from Michigan State University. She is a certified End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium (ELNEC) trainer and Certified Hospice Administrator. She worked with Hospice of Michigan, a not-for-profit hospice for 12 years prior to moving to Greenville where she spent her last 11 years with Kindred Hospice. Through her work experience, she has developed strengths in operations, strategic planning, board development, and community outreach. Annette’s goal at the beginning and end of each day is providing quality patient care and a compassionate environment for patients and families. She is excited to uphold and continue Hospice of the Upstate’s outstanding legacy.

Brandy Vaughn

Senior Director of Marketing

Brandy joined HOU in November 2017.  She is passionate about serving and loving people well.  Brandy earned a bachelor’s degree from Lander University in Business Administration with an emphasis in Healthcare Management and a master’s degree from Clemson University in Human Resource Development.  Working in the local healthcare landscape for the past 12 years, Brandy’s healthcare career began at Self Regional Healthcare in Greenwood in physician relations.  Most of her healthcare experience comes from AnMed Health where she worked in business development, physician relations and physician recruitment.  Her strengths in the areas of healthcare marketing, strategic planning and process improvement are highly utilized within the marketing and admissions teams at HOU.  A native of Belton, Brandy lives in Anderson with her husband Daren and their two children.  In her spare time she enjoys being outdoors with her fun crew, shopping/thrifting/antiquing on the weekends, and running to the beautiful SC coast any time the opportunity arises!

Terry Burgin

Patient Care Coordinator- Home Care

Terry has been with Hospice of the Upstate since 1999. She began her nursing career in 1986 as a CNA at AnMed. From there, Terry further advanced her nursing career becoming an LPN and then earning her bachelor’s in nursing in 2015. She has a nursing background in oncology, emergency response, and hospice.  Currently, Terry serves as the Patient Care Coordinator for Home Care. When she’s not working hard to meet the needs of our patients, Terry enjoys reading, spending time with her two sons, and watching Clemson and Alabama football!

Ashla Shingler

Senior Manager of Development

Ashla has been with Hospice of the Upstate for over 5 years. She earned a bachelor’s degree from Lander University in Business Administration with an emphasis in Healthcare Management and a master’s degree from the Medical University of South Carolina in Healthcare Administration. Ashla was excited when an opportunity came for her to come home and work for her local, nonprofit hospice. When Ashla is not working, she enjoys spending time with her husband Ivey, their son John and the sweetest Boykin Spaniel, Tucker!

Joan Morella

Senior Quality Manager

Joan began her nursing career while living in N.Y. working in a Hospital Med./Surg./Orthopedic unit.  After moving to Greenville, SC in 1996 she began working as a Supervisor in a Long Term Care Facility and discovered her passion in Geriatric and End of Life Care, specializing in Pt. and Family Care Coordination with the facility interdisciplinary team, and soon moved on to Hospice care.  She has dedicated the last 14 years to Hospice patient care, coordination of care, and Quality Management.  Joan is thrilled to be part of the Hospice of the Upstate Leadership Team.

Nika Fowler

Patient Care Coordinator- Home Care

Nika has been in the medical field since she was 17 years old, starting as a CNA and then worked to receive her Bachelor of Nursing degree in 1998. She spent the first 8 years of her nursing career in an Emergency Department, gaining experience as a staff nurse, educator and then director. She then took her nursing experience to hospice beginning in 1997, where she worked as a staff nurse and then a clinical manager, during this time she completed her Master of Nursing Degree in Nursing Education. Nika came to Hospice of the Upstate in April of 2018 where she serves as one of the Patient Care Coordinators for Home Care. She is currently working on a post-graduate degree in Nursing Leadership and Management. In her time off she does community service as a member of her sorority, Delta Sigma Theta, but especially enjoys spending time with family and friends, attending live music venues and reading a good book.

Kristen Minaudo

Human Resources Manager

Larissa Mittmann

Business Office Manager

Larissa comes to Hospice of The Upstate with 10 years of hospice experience. She realized early in her hospice career that her compassion for people had landed her in the right place.  She credits this compassion and love for people from growing up in Pickens, SC where she would often visit Rosemond Nursing Home where her mom worked.   Holding a degree in Health Care Administration, she brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the HOU team.

Our Physician

Dr. Alissa Manfredi

Medical Director

Dr. Alissa Manfredi is a graduate of the University of Delaware and Jefferson Medical College. She completed residency at Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Family Medicine. Manfredi is board certified by the American Board of Family Practice. After residency she began her career in urgent care centers in NC, KY, IN and SC.  Upon moving to SC she worked in Greenville Memorial’s Emergency Department.  In 2010 she became the Medical Director for Kindred, serving hospice patients in the upstate area. Manfredi recently came onboard to serve as Medical Director for our Home Care patients in Abbeville, Greenville, Oconee and Pickens Counties. When she’s not busy with her two girls, she likes to run and cycle, and enjoy the occasional date night with her husband.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

Linda McConnell, Chair

Bill Kibler, Past Chair

Brian Johnson, Vice Chair

Sandra Gantt, Secretary

Robert Wilson, Treasurer

Carolyn Baird

Elaine Epstein

Jim Harris

Dr. Curtis Hill

Rev. Mike Johnston

Tina Jury

Lee Luff

Alice McCallum

Angi Patrick

Dr. David Potts

Beverly McAdams

Nancy Simpson

Emeritus Board Members

Lila Albergotti

Betty Blackerby

Betty Gable

Dot Haddock

Jan Vestal